Cheese Thins 1

Made some cheese thins from a recipe on
Chocolate & Zucchini

Here is my variation on it (change because I simply used what I had
handy):

  • 170 grams grated 'semi-firm' yellow cheese. In this case Fyldig
    Norvegia, halvfast, modnet ost, 30% fett. This is a relatively new
    variant on Norvegia, which is probably Norway's best selling cheese,
    and it works well in this recipe.

  • 55 grams cheap spreadable margarine, Rema 1000's own brand.

  • 100 grams (3 1/2 ounces, about 3/4 cup) plain flour

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, plus more for sprinkling

  • 1/4 teaspoon powdered paprika, more for sprinkling

Here is a picture from the website showing what they are expected to
look like:

Chocolate & Zucchini's cheese thins

The original calls for finely grated hard cheese but I found that
coarsely grated new style Norvegia worked well. I used perfectly
ordinary paprika and salt (actually Seltin reduced sodium salt).

First try was with half the given quantities. I have no food
processor so I simply mixed all the ingredients together with a wooden
spoon until they were more or less together then formed them into a
ball with my hands after that I rolled it out thin and folded it over
and rolled again several times to ensure that the cheese was well
distributed.

Rolled it up unto a compact roll about 5cm thick and put it in the
freezer for half an hour so that it would be firmer and hence easier
to cut.

Cut thin rounds, about 2mm thick or slightly thinner.

Cooked for 14 minutes on two trays at 180C in the centre of the fan
oven. I think this might have been one or two minutes too long.

Should add a picture of my own effort but that will have to wait until
tomorrow because they were all eaten.

Leave a comment